Book Beat: Bisexual Heroines, Haka, & More

Welcome to Book Beat! Think of Book Beat as Hide Your Wallet, Part Two!

In Hide Your Wallet, we talk about books coming out in a particular month that we really want to read. But there’s more to good books than just new releases!

Book Beat aims to highlight other books that we may hear about through friends, social media, or other sources. We could see a gorgeous ad! Or find a new-to-us author on a list of underrated romances! Think of Book Beat as Teen Beat or Tiger Beat, but for books. And no staples to open to get the fold-out poster.

We hope you find something new to read through Book Beat, and please let us know what books you’ve discovered recently!

  • Always There

    Always There by Tiara Inserto

    Two top athletes, both with world titles in their sights. The one thing they didn’t aim for was each other… 

    Liana Murphy has a plan: take the manager’s job in New Zealand, show the world a woman can lead a men’s soccer team, and qualify for the most elite competition in the world. Simple, right? She wasn’t called ‘The Queen of Football’ for nothing. But when Liana is forced to share an apartment with the ‘King of Rugby,’ her recipe for success is put to the test. With all the world watching, failure isn’t an option.

    Mitch Molloy let the World Championship slip through his grasp four years ago. Now, redemption for the Kiwi rugby captain lies in winning the title on his home turf. This last victory will seal his legacy. All he needs to do is dedicate himself entirely and eliminate anything that could pull his focus. When a friend asks Mitch for a favor, he finds himself unexpectedly sharing his condo with ambitious Liana Murphy. As kindred spirits, their attraction is undeniable. But are their careers calling louder than their hearts?

    While falling for each other might be easy, juggling the demands of their dreams proves harder than either expected…

    Source: Twitter

    There’s a haka scene in this book and both the hero and heroine are athletic.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

  • Captive Desire

    Captive Desire by Robin Lovett

    Gahnin, a Ssedez general, hasn’t had a woman since his first mate died a century ago. And since his kind can live for a thousand years, he’s still bound by traditional mourning. If he breaks mourning, he could lose his position in the Ssedez military. His friends and family. Everything.

    That means no falling in love. No lust. No sex. For another century.

    Then he’s ordered to guard Assura, a human woman and military special operative, on a planet whose atmosphere causes a sexual arousal so fierce, it drives people insane if it isn’t satisfied.

    Even though he tries to keep Assura at arm’s length, he’s hooked. Forbidden desire called to life by a human, the same species who killed his first mate. Assura needs his body if she is going to live. But if he gives in to his passion, it could destroy him.

    Source: Twitter

    The author’s tweet mentions a gold-peened alien hero. Hi, yes, hello.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

  • The Princess and the Fangirl

    The Princess and the Fangirl by Ashley Poston

    Author: Ashley Poston
    Released: April 2, 2019 by Quirk Books
    Genre: , ,
    Series: Once Upon a Con #2

    Return to the geek-tastic world of Starfield fandom with a tale of a superstar and a superfan who swap lives in this sweet and funny companion novel to GEEKERELLA.

    Movie star Jessica Stone can’t go up onstage at another con and pretend to love Starfield anymore–except that she’s contractually obligated. She never dreamed she’d be playing Princess Amara for life, but people love Princess Amara, and for better or worse, Princess Amara has Jessica Stone’s face. But. it turns out, so does someone else.

    Imogen Weatherby is just another Starfield fan hitting up ExcelsiCon–except that she happens to look an awful lot like Jessica Stone (and no, you’re not the first one to point it out). When Jess spots Imogen, she has a brilliant idea: swap places. Jessica can live her life out of the spotlight while Imogen pretends to be her on the rest of the con circuit, and Imogen can ditch her crappy barista job and finally get to see something beyond her hometown.

    But Jess doesn’t anticipate actually liking Imogen’s life–or Imogen’s gorgeous best friend, Hana, who might just be the person Jess needs to forget about her ex. And Imogen loves being Jess Stone–and might even love this super talented artist, Tamaki, who she keeps bumping into. Except Tamaki thinks she’s Jessica Stone.

    When an obsessive fan finds out the truth and threatens to expose Jess for the “fake geek girl” she is, it will take both Jess and Imogen to stand up for the truth: That there is no such thing as a fake geek girl. That if you are a fan, then you are accepted. And that even if you aren’t a fan, you are worthy. That you are not invisible. That what you love matters. From the acclaimed author of Geekerella, this geeky spin on The Prince and the Pauper is a perfect story for geek girls of every fandom.

    Source: Bustle

    A queer and nerdy retelling of The Prince and the Pauper.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

  • Shatter the Sky

    Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Kim Wells

    A determined young woman sets out to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing a dragon from the corrupt emperor in this stunning fantasy debut that’s perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

    Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia—until the day Kaia is abducted by the Aurati, prophetic agents of the emperor, and forced to join their ranks. Desperate to save her, Maren hatches a plan to steal one of the emperor’s coveted dragons and storm the Aurati stronghold.

    If Maren is to have any hope of succeeding, she must become an apprentice to the Aromatory—the emperor’s mysterious dragon trainer. But Maren is unprepared for the dangerous secrets she uncovers: rumors of a lost prince, a brewing rebellion, and a prophecy that threatens to shatter the empire itself. Not to mention the strange dreams she’s been having about a beast deep underground…

    With time running out, can Maren survive long enough to rescue Kaia from impending death? Or could it be that Maren is destined for something greater than she could have ever imagined?

    Source: Paste Magazine

    There’s a chapter one excerpt for this “bisexual dragon YA fantasy novel.”

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    • Order this book from iBooks

AdSense

Smart Home