A2IM Libera Awards Showcase Indie Music’s Best: Radiohead, Run The Jewels, Bandcamp & More [Full List Of Winners]

image from pbs.twimg.com

Libera “Breakthrough Artist” Winner Whitney

Radiohead took home the award for Best Live Act, at Thursday night’s A2IM Libera Awards in New York City as well as the Fan Vote Award for Video of the Year for “Daydreaming.” SoundExchange CEO Michael Huppe presented the Independent Icon Award to musician and producer Nick Lowe. Also among the winners was Angel Olsen, who won honors for Album of the Year for My Woman.

In addition to artists, the Libera Awards recognized those who work that occurs behind the scenes,. Bandcamp was honored with the Independent Champion Award, while Triple Crown Records and Jagjaguwar took home Label of the Year Awards.

In one of the most dramatic moments of the evening, Dar Williams presented the A2IM Lifetime Achievement Award to singer, songwriter, and musical pioneer Ani DiFranco. After starting her own independent label, Righteous Babe Records, at the age of 18, DiFranco has repeatedly been recognized for her work in the music world, as well as on social and political issues. In 2009, DiFranco received the Woody Guthrie Award for her work towards positive social change.

This year  also brought the first ever A2IM Independent Impact Award presented to Florida Georgia Line. The award celebrates the independent artist with the highest combined sales and streams as measured by Nielsen music across all of the artist’s commercial releases in the U.S. between March 1, 2016 and February 28, 2017.

Here is a full list of the 2017 Libera Award Winners:

Best Live Act

Radiohead (XL Recordings)


Marketing Genius

The xx, I See You (Young Turks)


Best Sync Usage 

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, “Lincoln MKZ Spot” (Daptone Records)


Breakthrough Artist 

Whitney, Light Upon the Lake (Secretly Canadian)


Creative Packaging 

ThundercatDrunk (Brainfeeder)


Best Blues/Jazz/R&B Album

Charles BradleyChanges (Daptone Records)


Best Classical/World Album

Tinariwen, Elwan (Anti-)


Independent Champion



Best Country/Americana/Folk Album

Margo PriceMidwest Farmers Daughter (Third Man Records)


Best Dance/Electronica Album

Bonobo, Migration (Ninja Tune)


Independent Icon

Nick Lowe


A2IM Lifetime Achievement Award

Ani DiFranco (Righteous Babe Records)


Video of the Year

DJ Shadow feat. Run The Jewels, “Nobody Speak” (Mass Appeal Records)


Video of the Year – Fan Vote

Radiohead, “Daydreaming” (XL Recordings)


Best Metal/Hard Rock Album

King Gizzard & The Lizard WizardNonagon Infinity (ATO Records)


Independent Impact Award

Florida Georgia Line


Best Rap/Hip-Hop Album 

Run the Jewels, Run the Jewels 3 (Run the Jewels, Inc.)


Label of the Year (<5 employees)

Triple Crown Records


Label of the Year (6+ employees)



Album of the Year

Angel OlsenMY WOMAN (Jagjaguwar)

Powered by WPeMatico